The 19th Annual Rocky Mountain Virology Meeting

October 4 to 6, 2019

CSU Mountain Campus in Pingree Park  

Keynote speaker:

Our keynote speaker on Friday evening is Dr. W. Ian Lipkin, John Snow Professor, Epidemiology, Professor of Neurology and Pathology and Cell Biology; Director, Center for Infection and Immunity, Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University.  

Assembling a Global Immune System

Invited speakers:

David C. Bloom, Professor, Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, University of Florida College of Medicine.

“Role of HSV’s non-coding RNAs in Latency and Reactivation”

Raina Plowright, Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Montana State University.

“Pathogen spillover: deconstructing transmission of henipaviruses from bats to humans”

Sue VandeWoude, Professor, Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Pathology, Associate Dean for Research, College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Colorado State University.

     “Retroviral spillover among the Felidae”

Sven Heinz, Assistant Professor, School of Medicine, University of California, San Diego.

"Ending the message keeps things organized: how influenza A virus infection makes a mess of the host genome”

Sabra Klein, Associate Professor, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, Johns Hopkins Center for Women's Health, Sex, and Gender Differences, Johns Hopkins University.

The meeting starts with dinner on Friday evening and finishes at lunch on Sunday.

Free childcare will be available, but spots are limited and available on a first-come first-served basis. All children can attend for free, but guests must pay regular registration fees to cover room and board. Please contact me for further information:

This meeting is made possible, in part, by the generous support of donors:

Charles Grose, Charles H. Calisher, Sandra L. Quackenbush, Rushika Perera, Randall J. Cohrs and Jeff Wilusz, Jacquelin Dudley, Luis Rodriguez, Dan Konet, John Parker, and our all-volunteer organizers.

Support is also provided by our sponsors: Agilent Technology and Viruses

The Rocky Mountain Virology Association is a 501(c)3 nonprofit educational charity.

All donations are tax exempt and support the annual program.

2019 Meeting